Post-graduation funemployment

Somehow taking only 15 credits resulted in me having less time and fewer things to post about. Nevertheless, my final semester is over, graduation is done, I only had a meltdown on the day I left Ithaca, and now I’m home… which leads us to the “funemployment” thing.

Admittedly, I didn’t make up the word but rather borrowed it from a fellow journo classmate on Facebook who, like most of the rest of the department, now has a relevant job. I guess I also shouldn’t use the term in reference to my current situation because I am neither unemployed nor having fun. Forty-two journalism job applications later, I’m still working IT for the defense contractor at home, plus my internship editor wanted me to take on another day in addition to my Fridays, and then because I have no social life when I’m home, I decided it would be a great idea to pick up a paper route. For those of you counting at home, that’s 3 days doing IT, 2 days doing actual journalismy things, and 18 hours a week waking up at 3am and delivering 200+ newspapers for a grand total of 58 hours a week. So no, it’s not really “funemployment.”

However, because I like the word so much as well as sarcasm, it’ll be the theme for this summer while I send out more applications and try to get a job in my field. My goal from here on out is one application a week and trying to stay local, but by the end of the summer, I’m just going to pull out all the stops and apply anywhere and everywhere (which I’m starting to do now but on a smaller scale). I’ll add a counter at the bottom of each upcoming post to keep track of how many places I’ve applied to since graduating, since the 42 I submitted beforehand are probably duds.

In lighter news, I get to flex my journalistic muscles this coming week at Yale’s THREAD gathering, which is a cross between a conference, a workshop, and just hanging out with other narrative journalists and talking about storytelling. I’m pretty excited, not only because it means I get a 3-day reprieve from waking up at 3am but also because I really enjoyed my narrative journalism class last semester and want to get more involved with this kind of writing. I submitted the piece I wrote for that class (available here), and as much as workshopping makes me nervous, this will be a really valuable experience to get feedback and advice from industry professionals. Fingers crossed it goes well.

SUMMER OF FUNEMPLOYMENT APPLICATION COUNT: 3
One thought on “Post-graduation funemployment

  1. I’m sorry things are so rough right now . . . at least Pearl didn’t win Drag Race. But seriously girl, you deserve the best journalism job in the world, and I can’t wait for Application #X that’s the one that gets you to . . . well, probably NY or LA, but I can dream that you’ll join me in Albany. 🙂 I love you, and I’m insanely proud of you; 58 hours a week and I’d have had a meltdown.

Leave a Reply

