Revival

Don’t worry, I made it back from Argentina ok. I just didn’t have much time to post because I was working most of the week and a half I was home, and then as soon as I got back to good old Ithaca, I was working all day here too. As it is, I started this post on I think Wednesday and haven’t gotten around to finishing it til now.

Never fear, though, because I have another class that requires WordPress posting! I’m still a little nervous about multimedia because it’s a full fledged newsroom course on top of the 14 other credits I’m taking (not to mention work), but it’ll be good practice for the real world when I’ll probably have to take on two jobs to make ends meet, and it looks like there’s minimal video editing. Those stories will be under the newly created “Digital Newsroom” category and tab so they have their own special place separate from other shenanigans that may be posted here, and they’ll be out either every week or every other week, depending on the assignment.

I’m also hoping to be better about posting my external articles on here. They always go into my Portfolio tab, but I’m not deluding myself into thinking people actually look there, so a quick post to say “Hey, I wrote this” should help with traffic. The informational meeting for Buzzsaw is Wednesday, so the first article for that will probably be out around the end of the month, and if I do end up writing my obligatory article for The Ithacan, I’ll post that too. I was supposed to have one this week about the history of craft beer in Ithaca based on an exhibit at Cornell, but the exhibit said nothing about Ithaca and the oldest brewery here is 15 years old, plus my editors didn’t like my idea to expand it to the history of craft beer in upstate NY, which is much more involved.

EDIT: It turns out there’s an advantage of being friends with the editor-in-chief. I explained the situation with my beer article, and he said that he can override the section editor and let me expand it to the region so they actually get an article.

Finally, the class may require some reworking of the site, so keep an eye out for that.

Stay tuned for another story-filled semester!

Leave a Reply

