Heading out

My stuff is (mostly) packed, I’ve bought (almost) all the snacks I want to bring back, and I did early check-in, so really at this point it’s just waiting for a last-minute shower, dinner, and then the taxi to take me to the airport where I get to begin my super awesome 24-hour traveling adventure of planes, trains, and automobiles. (seriously, though, I have an hour ride to the airport, a 7 hour flight to Panama City, a 4 hour layover there, a 5 hour flight to Newark, a 2.5 hour layover there, a 3.5 hour train ride back to CT, and then a short car ride home.)

Long trip home aside, here are some highlights from my trip:

  • working with the lovely folks of La Poderosa Media Project to learn about the anthropology of food and how important it is to a community
  • not getting sunburnt until my last day in Ecuador…
  • being able to see some neat shows with Mente Argentina
  • getting to the point where I was comfortable walking around Buenos Aires on my own (during the day…)
  • writing for The Bubble and getting my first professional journalistic hate mail because even though I’m still annoyed with the inability of some people to understand how science and science journalism work, it was a good article and I’m proud of it.
  • and getting to try all the food, whether it be a 3-hour manabita classic, a Pick Up the Fork “restaurant for cheap bastards,” or milanesas and ice cream with my host family.

It’s been fun, guys.

Leave a Reply

