Stocking up

Tonight’s my last overnight in BA, so I had today and tomorrow to get all my last-minute stuff before I leave at 1am Monday morning. I didn’t do a whole lot today because I didn’t go to bed until 2:30ish, partly because my host family sister had friends over blasting Britney Spears (many songs of whom I still remember the lyrics…) and partly because I was watching more Let’s Play Cloudberry Kingdom because I suck at actually playing video games and I needed something to do because sleeping obviously wasn’t an option.

Also because it’s, you know, really entertaining.

As for my food, lunch was a little lame because I didn’t wake up til 11 or so, so I had a cookie at 3 and a choripán with a fried egg (chorihuevopán?) at 3:30 while waiting for Fuerza Bruta to start. For those of you who don’t know what it is, imagine Cirque du Soleil with less acrobatics and more acid, and that’ll get you a rough idea. I don’t want to give too much away, but there’s a lot of confetti, mist, fans, and flashy lighting. It’s pretty wild.

It’s also probably the closest I’ll ever get to a rave (or doing drugs), and I’m ok with that.

After that, we went back to the divey parrilla we went to on… whatever day that was earlier this week (Monday I think), and technically it wasn’t open yet, but they recognized us and let us sit inside and chill out til 7 when it actually opened. Since I had a choripán earlier (three and a half hours earlier…), I didn’t want another one, so I ordered what I thought was a half-portion of flank steak. It came out as a pretty sizeable piece of not flank steak, which I was ok with because it was delicious and more than enough food. I mean, this steak probably would’ve been 15 bucks in the States and I got it for the equivalent of roughly 6. Definitely glad we went.

Tomorrow will probably just be packing and stocking up on all the chocolate and cookies I want for the flight I MEAN TO BRING BACK FOR MY FRIENDS. I’ll just buy dulce de leche at Wegmans and deal with the fact that steak is more expensive back home.

Leave a Reply

