Breaking the mold

To kick off the food romp, I did something I don’t normally do: order something that isn’t chicken tikka masala at an Indian restaurant. I know that’s super lame, especially when I’m all “I’ll try everything once,” but I’m still working on my heat tolerance and it just tastes so good that I can’t help but order the same thing every time. (Un)fortunately for me, my friend from London (whose family is from India) refused to let me order it, plus it wasn’t on the lunch menu anyway, so I ordered a 19-spiced lamb dish that was really good. I’ll admit, I’m glad she put the threat on me because even though I could eat tikka masala sauce on a tire and probably be happy, part of me has also been wanting to order something else. Don’t worry, chicken tikka masala, you’re still my go to if things get scary.

(PS: The restaurant is also literally within throwing distance of my bedroom and I’ve been wanting to go there ever since I got here.)

I’m also just about done on my second article. For those of you keeping track at home, yes, I’ve been here for 5 weeks and haven’t published my second article, but it’s about GMOs, which is as huge a deal here as it is at home, so my editors wanted to make sure I had everything covered in case I got shredded. Of course, that implies that someone outside of my family is reading them, but one can be hopeful. As frustrating as it was, it was neat because my editors got me in contact with a postdoc researcher at a molecular and cellular biology research institute in a nearby city, and she not only gave me a lot of valuable points but also thanked me for being one of the handful of people not against the technology. Balanced sources are few and far between in this topic, so it’s exciting to be one of the few.

Leave a Reply

