Delayed recovery

I was going to add this as an edit to the bottom of last night’s post, but I decided it should get its own. In addition to drinking two cups of coffee and actually being somewhat sociable Saturday, my laptop decided to crap out somewhere between the first café (con leche) and the 3D printing café. Thanks to the lovely full-time staff in the IT department at school, I knew how to at least diagnose my problem, though seriously, all you do is type in the problem and chances are someone will know what it is and how to fix it (it’s actually our first line of defense after turning it off and turning it back on again).

Anyway, it appears my BIOS battery has kicked the bucket, making it impossible for my crappy little Gateway laptop to get past the Gateway loading screen. It seems like a pretty easy fix, just open up the back, replace the little battery (it’s like what you put in a watch), and then off you go. The problem is that I don’t have a screwdriver here small enough, and I don’t really want to attempt PC repair here in Argentina, mostly because I don’t trust my Spanish enough to explain what I need without sounding like I don’t know what I’m talking about beyond “computer,” “broken,” and “screwdriver” (thank you, bartending classes).

To be fair, it’s also five years old and *ahem* still runs Vista, so it’s not like it’s a brand new computer, but if I can salvage it, that’d be cool. It crashed several years ago when my dad still had it, and he was able to bring it back to life, but other than that, there wasn’t anything wrong with it until this. Chrome works fine on it, Word works fine on it, Inkscape works fine on it, and none of my Steam games are compatible with my Mac, so…

Leave a Reply

