Fooding it up

I’ve learned a lot of things in my time here, but when it comes to food, two main things come to mind: 1, it’s everywhere, and 2, it’s not cheap. Every block has a kiosco with all sorts of candy, and bakeries aren’t much less common. Combine that with the prevalence of restaurants and you’ll get what I mean. Unfortunately for those of us on a budget, it’s not exactly cheap either (well, cheaper than the States, yes, but when I’m trying to function on 100 pesos per day, it’s not fun).

But we’re not going to let that stop us from eating everything, are we? No! Of course not!

First order of foodly business: a DIY food tour of Buenos Aires courtesy of the recommendations on Pick Up the Fork. It’s a local restaurant blog with reviews of lots of different places to eat, and she often makes lists of good eats by categories like bakeries, sandwiches, vegetarian, or my personal favorite, cheap food. Since I have a lot of time to myself outside of researching for my articles, I’ve started visiting a few. Monday was DOGG, a hot dog place with all sorts of fun toppings and a great lunch deal (when I went, it was a hot dog with whatever toppings you wanted, fries, and a frozen lemonade for 46 pesos, which is about 5 bucks). Today I wanted some silly food way to celebrate the Fourth of July, but since I already used my hot dog credit this week, I hit 180 Burger Bar, which oddly enough is only a few blocks away from DOGG. Whoever decided to put tzatziki sauce (think that cucumber stuff you put on a gyro) on a burger is brilliant. I’m sure I’ll visit more places in the month I have left.

The second order of business was more of an instance of convenient timing than anything because the tenth annual Caminos y Sabores food fair was this weekend. It’s a big gathering of artisan foodmakers (and some crafty people) from around Argentina to showcase their goods. Wines, sweets, some delicious blueberry chocolate spread stuff, olive oil, mate, queso, salami, you name it. It was a bit pricy to get in (60 pesos), but a lot of stands had free samples, so you could sort of nosh your way through the fair. There was a lady there selling “exotic smoked meats” like boar, venison, pheasant, etc, and I ended up buying some because it was yummy and she was nice. (I would’ve bought some blueberry stuff too, but artisan stuff is expensive and I only had 70 pesos left on me.)

And now I just have to find a way to bring back my stupid Kinder eggs without getting taken into custody or something. Yippee.

Leave a Reply

