Back to reality

Not that Bahía wasn’t reality, but I so fell off the bandwagon in terms of blogging and actually being productive. The program was really neat though because I actually got to help prepare one of the local dishes we filmed and everyone was really friendly (and understanding of my ability to understand a lot more than I can say). Our films didn’t actually get put into the full documentary because that had already been more or less finished, but those videos are all online with their recipes and such, so maybe ours will be added later.

After about 24 hours of traveling, I finally made it to program number two in Buenos Aires. Definitely a lot bigger: a 15 minute walk here gets you to the post office rather than all the way across town. Weather is much cooler because technically it’s winter, but it’s not like Ithaca winter where you’re happy it’s above 5 because it’s more like 50s to 60 and they freak out if it gets below 5 Celsius. It is nice that it’s reasonable so I can keep the window open during the day and people watch from my room because I haven’t been brave enough to venture out just yet. I have my internship orientation tonight, though, so I’ll probably leave a little early to get acquainted with the area (and get my stamps) on the way there. It’ll be nice to be doing something relevant to my major and also not have to worry about getting sunburnt if I walk outside.

Thing that will take some getting used to here:

  • The use of vos instead of tú. Hasn’t been too much of an issue so far because the verb forms are close (“you have” is normally “tienes” but “tenés” here), but it’s still different.
  • The ll being more of a zh or j sound. It took me a bit last night to figure out that my host mom, Marta, was saying that there’s yogurt in the fridge because it sounds like “shogur” rather than “yogur.”
  • Seeing prices in pesos but using the dollar sign. Ecuador uses US money, plus you could get a lot for a dollar, so I had a minor freak out moment when I looked up international stamp prices and one stamp was $19. It ends up being about US$2.50, which is still disappointing for a stamp when they cost $1.15 in the US, but it looks a lot better than $19.
  • The noise level. Bahía was pretty quiet, but here I’m right in the city, so lots of cars and whatnot.
  • And the late meals. Marta told me that dinner was usually at 8:30 so I could let her know if I wasn’t going to be home for dinner some night, but my first thought was that there are going to be a lot of pre-dinners while I’m here.
Leave a Reply

